2025 South Carolina Synod Assembly

The number of voting members is determined from the most recent Congregational Report Form. Congregations are added to this list after we receive their Form A. Updated March 31, 2025

LAY VOTING MEMBERS

From the **Constitution of the South Carolina Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America**, Chapter 7, regarding the Synod Assembly:

S7.21.c...The Synod Council shall seek to ensure that, as nearly as possible, 45 percent of the lay members of the assembly shall be women and 45 percent shall be men. Additional members from each congregation normally shall be equally divided between men and women.

S7.21.A21. Each congregation of this synod shall be entitled to at least two lay voting members. Each congregation having 300 to 649 baptized members shall be entitled to one additional lay voting member. Each congregation having 650 to 999 baptized members shall be entitled to two additional lay voting members. Each congregation having 1000 or more baptized members shall be entitled to three additional lay voting members. Baptized members shall be based on the annual congregational report of each congregation for the year preceding the assembly. Each congregation of this synod shall be entitled to one additional lay voting member who is under the age of thirty at the time of the assembly. Each congregation of this synod shall be entitled to one additional lay voting member who is a person of color or whose primary language is other than English.

CONGREGATIONS ELIGIBLE FOR 5 LAY VOTING MEMBERS (1000 + Baptized Members)

Each congregation of this synod shall be entitled to one additional lay voting member who is under the age of thirty at the time of the assembly. Each congregation of this synod shall be entitled to one additional lay voting member who is a person of color or whose primary language is other than English.

St. Stephen Lutheran Church, Lexington Trinity Lutheran Church, Greenville

CONGREGATIONS ELIGIBLE FOR 4 LAY VOTING MEMBERS (650-999 Baptized Members)

Each congregation of this synod shall be entitled to one additional lay voting member who is under the age of thirty at the time of the assembly. Each congregation of this synod shall be entitled to one additional lay voting member who is a person of color or whose primary language is other than English.

Mount Tabor Lutheran Church, West Columbia Shepherd of the Sea Lutheran Church, Murrell's Inlet

- St. David Lutheran Church, West Columbia
- St. John Lutheran Church, Beaufort
- St. Luke Lutheran Church, Summerville

CONGREGATIONS ELIGIBLE FOR 3 LAY VOTING MEMBERS (300-649 Baptized Members)

Each congregation of this synod shall be entitled to one additional lay voting member who is under the age of thirty at the time of the assembly. Each congregation of this synod shall be entitled to one additional lay voting member who is a person of color or whose primary language is other than English.

All Saints Lutheran Church, Mt. Pleasant Ebenezer Lutheran Church, Columbia Emmanuel Lutheran Church, West Columbia Faith Lutheran Church, West Columbia Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, Columbia Grace Lutheran Church, Rock Hill Incarnation Lutheran Church, Columbia Joy Lutheran Church, Moore Living Springs Lutheran Church, Columbia Lutheran Church of the Redeemer, Charleston Messiah Lutheran Church, Mauldin Mt. Tabor Lutheran Church, Little Mountain Pisgah Lutheran Church, Lexington Redeemer Lutheran Church, Columbia Resurrection Lutheran Church, Cameron St. Andrew's Lutheran Church, Columbia St. John Lutheran Church, Spartanburg St. Luke Lutheran Church, Florence St. Matthew Lutheran Church, Charleston St. Michael Lutheran Church, Greenville St. Paul Lutheran Church, Aiken St. Paul Lutheran Church, Columbia St. Paul Lutheran Church, Columbia St. Paul Lutheran Church, Gilbert St. Philip Lutheran Church, Newberry St. Thomas Lutheran Church, Chapin Transfiguration Lutheran Church, Cayce Wittenberg Lutheran Church, Batesburg-Leesville Zion Lutheran Church, Lexington

CONGREGATIONS ELIGIBLE FOR 2 LAY VOTING MEMBERS (299 or less Baptized Members)

Each congregation of this synod shall be entitled to one additional lay voting member who is under the age of thirty at the time of the assembly. Each congregation of this synod shall be entitled to one additional lay voting member who is a person of color or whose primary language is other than English.

- Ascension Lutheran Church, Columbia Augsburg Lutheran Church, Union Bachman Chapel, Prosperity Bethany Lutheran Church, Lexington Bethany Evangelical Lutheran Church, Newberry Bethel Lutheran Church, White Rock Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Irmo Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Leesville Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Pomaria Christ Lutheran Church, Hilton Head Island Christus Victor Lutheran Church, Columbia Corinth Lutheran Church, Saluda
- Cross and Crown Lutheran Church, Florence Crossroads Lutheran Church, Indian Land Ehrhardt Memorial Lutheran Church, Ehrhardt Epiphany Lutheran Church, Rock Hill Faith Lutheran Church, John's Island Faith Evangelical Lutheran Ch., Batesburg-Leesville Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, Swansea Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, Walterboro Grace Lutheran Church, Gilbert Grace Lutheran Church, Prosperity Holy Communion Lutheran Church, Spartanburg

Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, Anderson Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, Columbia Hope Lutheran Church, Vance Lutheran Church by the Lake, McCormick Lutheran Church of Our Saviour, Greenville Martin Luther Evangelical Lutheran, Charleston Mount Calvary Lutheran Church, Johnston Mount Hebron Lutheran Church, Leesville Mount Hermon Lutheran Church, West Columbia Mount Olivet Lutheran Church, Chapin Mount Pilgrim Lutheran Church, Prosperity Mount Pleasant Lutheran Church, Ehrhardt Orangeburg Lutheran Church, Orangeburg Our Saviour Lutheran Church, West Columbia Pilgrim Lutheran Church, Lexington Pomaria Lutheran Church, Pomaria Providence Lutheran Church, Lexington Reformation Lutheran Church, Lancaster Reformation Lutheran Church, Columbia Sandy Run Lutheran Church, Swansea Springs of Grace Lutheran Church, Inman St. Andrew Lutheran Church, Blythewood St. James Lutheran Church, Lexington

St. James Lutheran Church, Sumter St. James Lutheran Church, Graniteville St. James Lutheran Church, Leesville St. Johannes Lutheran Church, Charleston St. John Lutheran Church, Irmo St. John Lutheran Church, Pomaria St. John Lutheran Church, Lexington St. Luke Lutheran Church, Columbia St. Mark Lutheran Church, Isle of Palms St. Mark Lutheran Church, Leesville St. Matthew Lutheran Church, Cameron St. Matthew's Lutheran Church, Lexington St. Matthias Lutheran Church, Easley St. Michael Lutheran Church, Columbia St. Peter Lutheran Church, Batesburg-Leesville St. Peter Lutheran Church, Pawley's Island St. Philip Lutheran Church, Myrtle Beach St. Timothy Lutheran Church, Camden St. Timothy Lutheran Church, Whitmire Summer Memorial Lutheran Church, Newberry Trinity Lutheran Church, Georgetown Union Lutheran Church, Leesville University Lutheran Church, Clemson

SYNOD-AUTHORIZED WORSHIPPING COMMUNITIES

S7.26. This synod may establish processes through the Synod Council that permit representatives of authorized worshiping communities of the synod, which have been authorized under ELCA bylaw 10.01.04., to serve as voting members of the Synod Assembly, consistent with †S7.21.

S7.26.A20. Each authorized worshiping community of this synod shall be entitled to two lay voting members, one of whom shall be a man and one of whom shall be a woman.

Neustro Salvador, Greenville