A Resolution of Appreciation and Gratitude [to the South Carolina Synod History Matters Team]

WHEREAS, A History of the Lutheran Church in South Carolina, 1971-1987; was published in 1988; and

WHEREAS, The Rev. David A. Donges, Bishop, South Carolina Synod (SC), [1996-2008] recognized that the story of God's people in the SC Synod, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, needed to be updated to include the missing years of history; and

WHEREAS, the Synod Council, meeting June 29-30, 2007, supported the need for an updated history and appointed Deacon Dorothy L. Jeffcoat, Chair; Celie M. Addy, Communications Coordinator, SC Synod; The Rev. Dr. James Aull, Bishop Emeritus, SC Synod; The Rev. David A. Donges, Bishop, SC Synod; Jeanette Bergeron, James R. Crumley Archivist and Consultant; and Dr. Susan M. McArver, Associate Professor of Church History, Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary; to the *History Matters* Coordinating Team; and

WHEREAS, the team envisioned that the updated history be a three-volume set titled, *History Matters* including a book each for: Congregational Histories, Historical Narrative, and Leadership Directory; and

WHEREAS, The Rev. Herman R. Yoos, Bishop [2008-2020] and The Rev. Virginia S. Aebischer, Bishop [2020-] have supported and encouraged the continued work of the *History Matters* team; and

WHEREAS, *History Matters, Congregational Histories, 1824-2017*, Volume I was completed in 2017 with histories from 167 congregations recorded on 557 pages; and

WHEREAS, *History Matters, Historical Narrative, 1824-2018*, Volume 2 was completed in 2019 by writers Jeanette Bergeron, The Rev. Wayne Kannaday, and The Rev. Dr. George Anderson in 418 pages; and

WHEREAS, *History Matters, Leadership Directory*, Volume 3 has been completed in 2022 including biographical sketches of about 1400 rostered ministers who have SC Synod connections from 1732-2022 in 480 pages; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the South Carolina Synod give thanks to God for the faithful work of the members of the team completing the *History Matters* project: Deacon Dorothy L. Jeffcoat, The Rev. David A. Donges, The Rev. Marion W. Clark, The Rev. A. Glenn Boland, Bobbi Burns, and The Rev. Kathleen Panning; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the South Carolina Synod give thanks to God for the sponsors and friends who contributed generously to the history book project and to the David and Carolyn Donges Fund for Ministries for the financial support of *History Matters*; and be it finally

RESOLVED, that the South Carolina Synod meeting in assembly on June 12-14, 2022, express their appreciation and gratitude to the members of the *History Matters* Coordinating Team*; Sponsors*; Other Volunteers*; Sub-Committee Members, writers, and contributors* with a rising vote of thanks (*with applause*).

^{*}See complete list of names for history team, sponsors and friends, volunteers, and sub-committee members.

History Matters Coordinating Team

Dorothy Jeffcoat, Chair and Rostered Leader Directory Coordinator, Design David Donges, Former Bishop, Consultant and Proofreader Carol Nordquist, Congregational History Coordinator (deceased 2019)

> Kathleen Panning, Rostered Leader Directory Data Marion Clark, Narrative History Coordinator Glenn Boland, Narrative History Coordinator Bobbi Burns, Proofreading Coordinator

Jeanette Bergeron, James R. Crumley Jr. Archives Director (retired)

Sponsors and Friends

Bob & Annie Ruth Addy James W & Celie M Addy Richard (Dick) & Linda Albert

Jeanette Bergeron

A Glenn & Carole A Boland

Kathleen Panning & Gary Brandenburg

Bobbi Burns Joyce R Carter

Marion W & Edith R Clark Charles & Dawn Corley David & Carolyn Donges

Sig Huitt

Dorothy L Jeffcoat Helen Doerpinghaus

Wayne & Christopher Kannaday

Daniel H & Jane Koon Robert & Jane Long Susan W McArver

Annette Worthington Metz

Carol Nordquist

Gene & Elaine Palmer Reginald & Brenda Price Gloria & Heber Rast

Jim & Janet Riddle Ed & Leslie Skinner Sister Marilyn Stauffer Carolyn L Torrence Darlene Weight

Ruth Roof Wilson Herman & Cindy P Yoos

Holy Communion, Spartanburg

St Michael, Frank Anderson, Columbia

Thrivent Financial for Lutherans Midlands Chapter Thrivent Financial for Lutherans Regional Relations

Other Volunteers and Sub-Committee Members

James Aull, SC Synod Bishop [1988-1996],

Consultant and Proofreader

W. Osborne Herlong, SC Synod Secretary/Archivist Susan McArver, Church Historian and Consultant

Bob Long, Fundraising Team Charles Moore, Fundraising Team Marilyn Stauffer, Fundraising Team

Raymond Hendrix, Fundraising Team and Synod

Treasurer

Jim Riddle, Fundraising Events Coordinator Herman Yoos, SC Synod Bishop [2008-2020] Ginny Aebischer, Synod Staff and SC Synod Bishop

[2020-

Celie Addy, Synod Communications Support Dawn and Charles Corley, History Matters Fund

Raising Event Presenters

Neal Fischer, Synod Communications Support

Jenny Spearen, Synod Office Support Charlene Fink, Synod Office Support

Judy Jolly, Reviewed (congregational histories) Jamie Mansperger (congregational histories) H. George Anderson Presiding Bishop, ELCA [1995-

2001], (Narrative writer)

Wayne Kannaday (Narrative writer) Jeanette Bergeron (Narrative writer) Paul Aebischer (Narrative Research)

James & Celie Addy, Proofreaders (narrative)

Martha Haigler, Proofreader (narrative) (deceased 2021)

Ginny Aull, Proofreader (narrative and directory)

Marilyn Shealy, Proofreader (directory) Nat McCartha, Proofreader (directory) Daniel Koon, Proofreader (directory) Gloria Preslar, Proofreader (directory)

Kathy Bupp, Data entry (directory)
Wendell Gulledge, Data entry (directory)
Sue ZurSchmeide, Data entry and corrections

(directory)

Sharon Turner Baldwin, Data entry and corrections

(directory)

Bob Isenhower (deceased), Consultant and Data entry

(directory)

Nancy Lewis Tuten, Editorial Consultant

Gene Palmer, Photograph