By Jill Johnson, Newberry College Public Relations

Sheley1Alumna Dr. James Ann Lynch Sheley to describe her path to career success

Newberry College alumna Dr. James Ann Lynch Sheley ‘76 will describe her career journey from her undergraduate experience at Newberry College to her professional career as an educator. Sheley will share her experiences as a presenter for the Newberry College Alumni Speaker Series on Monday, March 14, at 7 p.m., in the Alumni Music Center Recital Hall.

Sheley has more than 38 years of experience in education. She currently serves as Chief Planning and Initiatives Officer for Richland School District Two in Columbia, S.C. Previously, she was the Director of Elementary Schools in Lexington District One, where she also served as the district’s AdvancED Coordinator.

Previously in Richland District Two, Sheley served as principal of North Springs Elementary and was founding principal of Lake Carolina Elementary. She began her education career as a teacher at Lugoff-Elgin Middle School in Kershaw County School District, where she also served as a teacher, assistant principal and principal at Lugoff Elementary, and as curriculum coordinator for the district.

Sheley holds a bachelor’s degree from Newberry College, a master’s degree and master’s plus 30 from Winthrop University, and an Ed. D. from Nova–Southeastern University. She is a graduate of the Executive Leadership Academy and the Center for Creative Leadership.

Sheley has received numerous awards and honors, including the National Milken Educator Award, South Carolina National Principal of the Year and Alpha Delta Kappa Excellence in Education Award.

She is an active member of the South Carolina Association of School Administrators where she was president of the Elementary Principals Association and has been a member of the Palmetto’s Finest selection committee since the early 1990s. She currently serves on the SC-ASCD Board, is secretary of the Board of Managers of Newberry College, past chairperson of the Speers Creek School campaign committee and is a member of St. Andrew’s Lutheran Church.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This