By Rev. Ozzie Herlong, Synod Secretary

Appointed six members to the 2016 South Carolina Synod Assembly Nominating Committee.

Appointed the Rev. Gary A. Loadholdt as chair, 2016 South Carolina Synod Assembly Nominating Committee.

Conducted a Special Order with Dr. Clay Schmit, Provost, Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary of Lenoir-Rhyne University.

Ratified the elections of Mr. Charlie Kirby, Dr. Donna Millar-Potts and Mrs. Janelle Othersen to the Board of Trustees, Lutheran Homes of South Carolina, to serve a second term of three years expiring 2018.

Entered into agreements with two interim pastors to declare their eligibility to be considered for a regular call to the congregations served in accord with *C9.07. 2013 Model Constitution for Congregations of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

Voted to support the action taken at the June meeting of the South Carolina Lutheran Men in Mission Executive Board to designate Sunday, November 1, 2015 as Pee Dee Indian Project Sunday in the South Carolina Synod and encourage individuals and congregations of the South Carolina Synod to participate.

Approved the recommendation of the Finance Committee to divide the surplus in half, and that one half be given as follows to: Always Being Made New: The Campaign of the ELCA, $10,000; LARCUM, $ 6,368; Candidacy, $6, 368; and that a portion of the other half, $2,500 be designated to the accounting department for help in reviewing monthly financial statements and the balance of $20,236 be held in the “Current Unrestricted Balance” account.

Accepted, with regret, the resignation of Mrs. Ginny Eiwen as convener of the Community Engagement Table, and write a letter of thanks for her faithful service during the past year.

Appointed the Rev. Jane P. Mitcham as convener of the Community Engagement Table.

Extended calls to interim ministry, South Carolina Synod, to the Rev. Kenneth C. Gillikin, beginning August 16, 2015; the Rev. David M. Seymour, beginning September 10, 2015; and the Rev. Mark A. Scott, beginning July 1, 2015 for terms of two-years, in accord with 7.41.11.b. Constitution, Bylaws, and Continuing Resolutions of the ELCA.

Voted to continue with the current practice of meeting for Synod Assembly on an annual basis and submit the 2012 Report of the Task Force on Biennial Assemblies to the 2016 Synod Assembly.

Authorized the Rev. Virginia Aebischer, assembly manager, to negotiate a contract for the South Carolina Synod Assembly to be scheduled in 2017 and that the assembly be scheduled for three days and two nights.

Voted to sponsor a tree in the Luther Garden, Wittenberg, Germany, in observance and commemoration of the 500th Anniversary of the Reformation. October 31, 1517.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This