From the FEMA Newsdesk

fema-logo-whiteSome disaster survivors affected by the severe storms and flooding in South Carolina may receive a letter from the Federal Emergency Management Agency saying they are ineligible for disaster assistance.

If that happens, do not be alarmed or discouraged. It may mean that FEMA does not have all the information needed to make a decision regarding an applicant’s disaster assistance.

Several reasons exist for why flood survivors receive ineligibility determination letters and yet may be eligible for assistance. For example, the applicant may still need to:

  • Return insurance information;
  • Provide information to prove occupancy or ownership of the damaged property;
  • Fill out all necessary paperwork; or
  • Complete and return the U.S. Small Business Administration loan application.

Applicants with insurance should contact their insurance company and ask for a settlement letter detailing exactly what is covered under their claim. They should mail insurance settlement information to FEMA – Individuals and Households Program, National Processing Service Center, P.O. Box 10055, Hyattsville, MD 20782-7055.

Flood survivors have up to 12 months from the date they registered with FEMA to submit insurance information for review. FEMA cannot provide money to individuals or households for losses already covered by insurance.

FEMA reminds applicants to return the completed SBA loan application even if they choose to decline the loan. Completing the loan application is a necessary step if applicants are to be considered for some other forms of disaster assistance.

Applicants who wish to appeal a decision may do so in writing within 60 days from the date the ineligibility letter was received. Guidelines for appeals can be found in the Applicant’s Handbook sent to everyone who registered with FEMA.

Flood survivors who need to update their application information or have any questions about disaster assistance can call the FEMA helpline at 800-621-3362. Phone lines are open from 7 a.m. to10 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

People can apply for FEMA assistance online at

They can call 800-621-3362 toll free from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily until further notice. Multilingual operators are available.

Disaster survivors who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY, call 800-462-7585. If survivors use 711 or VRS (Video Relay Service) or require accommodations while visiting a center, call 800-621- 3362. All disaster recovery centers are accessible and equipped with tools to accommodate survivors who need disability-related communication aids.

Survivors can visit a state/FEMA disaster recovery center. To find the nearest DRC go to

Remember: Gov. Nikki Haley’s Request For FEMA Individual Assistance Extension was Granted. S.C. Flood Survivors Now Have Until January 4 To Apply For Federal Aid.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This